Embracing Salesian life … always and forevermore.

This photo montage was made possible by my friend Itchan. He used the Dan Schutte’s “These alone are enough” which is rendered by the St. Louis Jesuits.

I suggested to him another song but he chose this one instead since it’s his favorite since way back the time he’s discerning to enter the seminary. The first time I heard it, I’d loved it.

The song is introduced by a tolling of the bell from a distance.

There is something in the melody which soothes one’s soul, and calms one’s spirit.

I learnt that it’s one song which is often used in funerals, which makes sense because the words of the song let out a tone of a quiet surrender not because the warrior waged a war that’s losing, but a fight that needs to be put to its rightful end.

Meditate on the lyrics:

1. Take my heart, O Lord, take my hopes and dreams.
Take my mind with all its plans and schemes.
Give me nothing more than your love and grace.
These alone, O God, are enough for me.

2. Take my thoughts, O Lord, and my memory.
Take my tears, my joys, my liberty.
Give me nothing more than your love and grace.
These alone, O God, are enough for me.

3. I surrender, Lord, all I have and hold.
I return to you your gifts untold.
Give me nothing more than your love and grace.
These alone, O God, are enough for me.

4. When the darkness falls on my final days,
take the very breath that sang your praise.
Give me nothing more than your love and grace.
These alone, O God, are enough for me.

One comment

  1. Nice article. You noticed the tolling of the bells as well. I find it symbolic since I believe that we are all called to be God’s bell ringers. Take care and God bless brother!

Leave a Reply

