Embracing #Forever

With help from friends and young confreres, I released the book “Thoughts from the Seedbed” last year. It is a collection of goodnight talks I delivered during my two-year practical training stint in the Don Bosco Seminary in Canlubang.

This year, on the feast of St. Francis de Sales, patron saint of publishers, I will launch “Embracing Forever.” This is a compendium of speeches (including those which I delivered during my first and perpetual professions, respectively), essays, InsideOut (Don Bosco Seminary publication– I used to be its editor-in-chief when I was an aspirant) piece, Salesian Bulletin (now renamed St John Bosco Today) articles, selected blog entries (thru http://onapensivemood.blogspot.com) which date back to a decade ago, and a few personal letters.

More than just a #throwback, I hope to achieve two things with this.

Firstly, rekindle my ties with former seminary companions, formators (there is one speech about a brother assistant when I was an aspirant, a speech to the then Rector Major Don Chavez when I was tasked to address him when he visited the Philippines for the first time), former students and young people I encountered in the ministry, and friends I met and journeyed with when I entered the seminary (and left–and returned again).

And secondly, look into how God’s grace has sustained me from my first feeble steps in the prenoviate stage to the definitive decision I made when I made the final vows. Having made the journey, I can only borrow the words of St Paul to describe it, His grace is sufficient for me (cf 2 Cor 12:9).

Stay tuned for more details. For now, here is the book’s penultimate cover. 🙂

Embracing Forever

Leave a Reply

