A Grateful Heart

Marlon Cuevas writes about his experience in a street children center run by the Salesians  and the lessons from it, and the  Salesians who have inculcated in him a grateful heart.

St. John Bosco inspires not just young people but Catholic faithful from all walks of life. As we continue with the novena days in honor of The Saint of Youth, #HappyBirthdayDonBosco team shares with you reflections of various professionals who have been influenced by our beloved Saint. Graphics by Mark Anthony Ramos.

St. John Bosco inspires not just young people but Catholic faithful from all walks of life. As we conclude with the novena days in honor of The Saint of Youth, #HappyBirthdayDonBosco team shares with you reflections of various professionals who have been influenced by our beloved Saint. Graphics by Mark Anthony Ramos.

To start with, I was an orphan.

My three siblings and I practically grew up at Tuloy sa Don Bosco, a center for street children under the Tuloy Foundation and Fr. Rocky Evangelista, a Salesian of of Don Bosco.

In my stay there, I consider two holy individuals whom I admire most because they have the spirit of Don Bosco: Fr. Rocky and Fr. Antonio “Beng-Beng” Molavin, SDB.

These two holy men taught me how to become a good and concerned citizen of our country. I am so grateful to them because they shared Don Bosco’s life, work, love and holiness to me and specially to my siblings.

They always told to us that there are two keys in order for us to go to heaven: by asking forgiveness through CONFESSION and by lining up in the Mass for COMMUNION.

In my innocent mind I followed these steps in order to achieve peace of mind and soul. But as I grew older as a teenager these things changed because of my friends that I encountered always. But I am still thankful that these Salesians are always there for us to remind that Don Bosco is always waiting for us in heaven.

My understanding about Don Bosco’s life and mission was deepened when I entered the seminary. In that institution I came across this important quote from him “For you I study, for you I work, for you I live, for you I am ready even to give my life.”

Somewhere along the way, I realized that I was not meant to become a Salesian.

But the quotation above stuck.

When I started to teach here at St. Scholastica’s Academy in Pampanga, I realized the gravity of that thought—and Don Bosco’s love for the youth.

I study my lessons every night and day . . . it is for them.

I work hard to finish my lessons, check the papers and compute the grades . . . it is for them.

I am ready to give my life for my loved ones, and this include my students.

It means that every day Don Bosco lives in me because of his valuable teachings that I am able to live out with to my students.

I am so thankful that Don Bosco’s teaching helps me always as I journey with my students.

One comment

  1. Wow! Thank you Marlon for a heart-warming sharing! I never thought for one instant that my volunteering in Tuloy sa Don Bosco is a wasted time. Thank you for inspiring our kids and the kids to come! Give my love to Marvin, Malou and Mayca. God bless your more, so you can bless others more!

Leave a Reply

