Psalm 139

Today’s the Solemnity of the Birth of John the Baptist. Examining the set of readings in the liturgy today, the psalm has particularly called my attention.

Mt. Batulao at Dusk.

                                                                     Mt. Batulao at Dusk.

This psalm is one of my favorites. It reminds me of a God who loves me, and that He has thought of me even before I came into existence.

I recall that when I had my retreat two weeks ago, the first two lines jumped out of the page and called my attention:

O Lord, you know me:
You have scrutinized me.

The Lord didn’t just come to know me because of His sheer power, but that He spent time thinking about me.  This psalm wrapped me in gratitude for my existence alone, and more so, realizing that He has called me to this state of life.

Leave a comment