MBTI and Prayer

Picture1

The idea that our prayer can be influenced by our personality makes sense. And the thought that each of the 16 personalities has the suitable kind of prayer that is meant for it caught my fancy. I think, both stand to reason.

I did the test right after we had the session on Prayer and Personality. Here is the result of my MBTI:

Introvert (31%)   Sensing (1%)   Feeling (47%)   Judging (41%)

Underneath, there is a note: Because you appear to have marginal or no (1%) preference of Sensing over Intuition, characteristics of more than one personality type may apply to you: ISFJ and INFJ.

You can also have an idea of what personality type you have based on MBTI. Go to this site.

I read the descriptions for each of the letters, that is, I-S/N-F-J and assessing how I perceive myself, I would like to agree that the description for each of the letters is more or less accurate. At least, when they refer to how I see myself.

Highlighting the aspects of the relationship and humanitarian concern which relate to my MBTI personality type, I reckon that these two contribute not just to the method, but also to the rhythm of my prayer life.

I feel more drawn to prayer when I feel the need to strengthen my resolve to relate with God, when I feel that I do not seem to pray as I used to in the past which has contributed significantly to how I see my relationship with Him has been nourished for several years now.

My being an introvert has developed in me a particular liking to look for a solitary silent space which is for me something sacred. There, I spend intimate moment with the Lord, away from the noise and concern of the world. This is particularly true when I feel the need to rest after a long day of being with so many people.

This is also true with the tempo of my prayer life.

I note that I am drawn to pray more (length) and more intensely (depth), when I am conscious of a particular intention of someone who needs help. The description of Heiss and Butt in the website provide not just a probable reason, but also, more of an insight:  [The INFJ] in fact, sometimes mistaken for extroverts because they appear so outgoing and are so genuinely interested in people — a product of the Feeling function they most readily show to the world.

Furthermore, “Self-expression comes more easily to INFJs on paper, as they tend to have strong writing skills.” Again, this description once again hits the nail on its head. Not only do I maintain a physical journal, but I have been quite regular in my blogging. In fact, I liken writing to praying. For every stroke of a letter I treat as a crying out to God.

Peeping in the description of ISFJs, I found this: [They] have a few, close friends. They are extremely loyal to these, and are ready to provide emotional and practical support at a moment’s notice. To which I agree wholeheartedly.

Leave a Reply

