“Do whatever He tells you”

Lest we forget, we begin today the first day of the novena in honor of the Immaculate Conception.  One of our brothers in the community delivered this sermonette earlier this evening. 

It is our desire that this piece will get us into the fever of preparing ourselves for the solemn feast of the Immaculate Conception.

immaculate-conception31.jpg

“I am the Immaculate Conception” Photo courtesy of http://www.ignitiumtoday.com

Growing up, I wasn’t able to spend much time with my father since he was always away pursuing rebels in the mountains. He was a military officer.

Each time he gets to come home, it is almost certain I will get into trouble with him. Even at the slightest fault, he takes out his shiny belt and hit with precision my behind. But then, “mama of perpetual help” always comes to the rescue and pacify everything.

Undoubtedly, I am more of a mama’s boy. When she spoke, there was 99% probability rate that I would obey. Her gentle words of scolding could easily bring me to tears and repentance. I love her very much. Sadly, I only spent 21 years with her since she passed away shortly after my 21st birthday due to lung cancer. But as I look back at the beautiful moments I had with my mother, it brought me to one of the scenes of the movie “The Passion of the Christ.”

The scene depicts Jesus running around while Mama Mary does her household chores, Jesus loses balance and falls. Then, Mama Mary, terrified, quickly comes to the aid of the young Jesus and checks Him for injuries. What a lovely sight to behold to show us the love of a mother! To have a mother is one of the best gifts we could ever have. And despite the loss of my biological mother, God has given me the gift of a spiritual mother. This gift we all share as we belong to one covenantal family which we call the Church.

All of us have experienced the love of a biological mother especially when we get into trouble (whatever kind of trouble it may be). Our mothers hasten to our aid and make sure that we are okay or we will be okay. In this same way, this is actually what Mama Mary does for us, too, especially in the spiritual aspect.

We can look at the scene where Jesus falls as an analogy for each of us. We are here because we try our best to live our consecrated lives the most faithful that we could. But there are really times when our shortcomings get the better of us—whether it involves struggles with the vows, community life, or the ministry—in one way or another, we stumble. But though we may stumble, we must get up, heal our wounds and move forward.

We can assure ourselves that in these difficult moments, certainly, Mama Mary will run hastily to our aid—to encourage us and assist us to make a leap of faith… And once we are back on our feet, Mama Mary lovingly reminds us of what it means to believe in Christ Jesus – “Do whatever He tells you” John 2:5.

Leave a Reply

