A glance at the Sacred Heart

One time, I saw Fr. Andres in his wheel chair just outside the chapel. I asked him what he was doing there. He told me that he wanted to visit the Blessed Sacrament. He needs to be assisted to walk, and since no one was around, he could not go inside the chapel.

p_20160711_070408.jpg

p_20160711_070658.jpg

When I open the window for him to gaze at the tabernacle, he seems pleased. He then sheepishly smiles and tells me, “I wish to ask for another favor, but it seems that you are busy.” I reply, “It is okay, Fr. What is it?

p_20160711_070332.jpg

He wanted to visit the Sacred Heart image on our stair case landing. I was running late for my retreat, but I cannot refuse him. I pushed his wheelchair en route to the staircase where the image is enshrined. This very image I come to realize bids goodbye to those who leave and welcome those who come with its arms opened.

I can see in Fr. Andres’s eyes the profuse thankfulness when I yielded to his request. And more so, when he finally touched the hand of the image, which must have welcomed him the first time he arrived in the community.

p_20160711_070507.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

